Better To Be Correct

Express how you truly feel with no concerns about being "politically correct."

Prostitution~Psychology?

with 5 comments


I was taking a shower the other day (where I do most of my thinking) and I somehow started thinking about prostitution and why anyone would want to resort to such a thing. I tried to come up with some answers as to why people would want to sell themselves, and then I remembered watching interviews of people in one of my classes. Some of them said they experienced a horrible childhood and somehow wound up into the field, and others said they felt like they provided good services and wanted to help those who needed that “someone” there for a few minutes, to help them deal with whatever they were going through. The second answer is what got me to question my theory… is it fair to equate prostitutes to psychologists?

I’m not putting down either groups of people, but just think about it. People go to prostitutes for many reasons, a lot of which are loneliness, wanting to have someone there to talk to because no one else listens, having a unique bond with someone, and the list goes on. Well, those are the same reasons why people go to psychologists most of the time. To have that guaranteed “someone” there. We can easily look at prostitutes and label them as “whores” and people who sell their bodies, but a lot of these interviews that I watched said that a lot of times the prostitutes would just sit and have a conversation with their clients about their lives. So although they don’t have their psychology degree, can we truly label them as being the “awful” people that everyone labels them as? By no means am I advocating prostitution or saying that it is okay, but the more I read into it the more I understood where they were coming from. Psychologists do the same things prostitutes do (although they don’t have sex with their clients… at least not all of them), but the only difference is that they get paid to do it legally in a more “professional” manner, if that’s what you call it.

So what do you think? Can we equate prostitutes to psychologists, at least to a certain degree?

Written by Annie

February 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know if prostitutes enter their profession for the two reasons mentioned, I think some may just like sex. That’s besides the point.
    I have to agree on some level that prostitutes can act as comforters for people who come to them. I don’t know if I’d label them as psychologists, since you’d need an understanding of how the human mind works to help a person. Prostitutes don’t know the intricacies of the mind the way a psychologist does, but they provide a service in being someone’s companion. A psychologist isn’t meant to be a companion, they are professionals who do what is needed to help a client. Whether it be proscribing medication or being someone for them to talk to.

    I think the two fields are totally separate, and perhaps have a singular link in common. I don’t see that as equating the two.

    Amir

    February 14, 2009 at 3:37 am

  2. You’re right, which is why I just changed the equal sign to a similar sign, because of my “to a certain degree” comment. =)

    Annie

    February 14, 2009 at 4:19 am

  3. Very creative.

    John

    February 14, 2009 at 11:57 pm

  4. “I don’t know if prostitutes enter their profession for the two reasons mentioned, I think some may just like sex.”

    Are you being facetious or do you really think that’s a common reason people work as prostitutes?

    Danielle

    February 15, 2009 at 10:35 pm

  5. I’m glad I found your blog! I love it!!

    Anonymous

    February 16, 2009 at 7:44 pm


Leave a Reply

