Better To Be Correct

Express how you truly feel with no concerns about being "politically correct."

Mayoral Election Results: I’m Going To Remain Optimistic

with 14 comments


For those of you who didn’t follow the L.A. Mayoral Election, I’m sad to say that Antonio Villaraigosa won. BUT, I’m still going to remain optimistic. Why? Well, when you have great candidates out there like Phil Jennerjahn and Walter Moore, it gives me hope to know that credible and caring people actually exist. I’m not going to lie though, I am upset that a lot of people were really ignorant and voted for Villaraigosa for the sake of voting for him, but hopefully those same people will one day get the education they lack and make smarter decisions in life.

As far as the charter amendments go, the results are:

~Charter Amendment A (Fire Department Independent Assessor)- PASSED
~Charter Amendment and Ordinance Proposition B (Solar Energy)- DIDN’T PASS
~Charter Amendment C (Disabled Children Survivor Benefit of Fire and Police Pension Plan)- PASSED
~Charter Amendment D (Survivor Benefit Purchase Program For Retirees of the Fire and Police Pension Plan)- PASSED
~Charter Amendment E (Economic Incentives for Business Development)- DIDN’T PASS

What are your thoughts about the outcome of the election?

Written by Annie

March 6, 2009 at 9:44 pm

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Right there with you on the optimism.

    Anonymous

    March 6, 2009 at 10:22 pm

  2. “…but hopefully those same people will one day get the education they lack and make smarter decisions in life.”

    Hahaha I love you.

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 1:27 am

  3. Anyone who voted for him is stupid!

    Greg

    March 7, 2009 at 1:47 am

  4. I think you’re a tool and need to get more education yourself!!

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 1:49 am

  5. I agree: you shouldn’t try sounding intelligent when you’re lacking the capacity to outline relevant thoughts about modern-day politics.

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 1:55 am

  6. i agree also about that.. you make claims without proper reference.. maybe you should read a book that was published my someone credible.. (fox news is not credible)

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 2:00 am

  7. Anonymous #3: I’m a tool? Please explain.

    Anonymous #4: How do I lack intelligence… what “relevant thoughts about modern-day politics” are you talking about that I don’t “outline.” I say what’s on my mind based on modern day politics. Be more specific.

    Anonymous #5: That’s really ignorant of you to throw in fox news in there without knowing anything about me or why I think the way I do (and f.y.i. “fox news” isn’t a source of “book”). I’ve read plenty books published by credible people from both ends of the political spectrum, but that’s not even the point of this blog. As far as my claims go “without proper reference”… I’ve met and spoken to Villaraigosa, and I also was one of the people who put together the mayoral debate and met and spoke with all of the candidates and did research on all of them. So for you to say that I make claims without “proper” reference, I’ve done the research and have met the source, which not a lot of people can say they did. Thank you very much.

    Annie

    March 7, 2009 at 2:18 am

  8. Don’t listen to them Annie. I completely agree with you and their comments don’t even make sense.

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 2:19 am

  9. Oh my… you should “get more education” and are “trying to sound intelligent?” Do these people know how RIDICULOUSLY intelligent you are and how you have so much going for you because you’re ridiculously smart? It’s okay Annie, there’s always going to be envious people who hate, and unfortunately it’s a part of life.

    Anonymous

    March 7, 2009 at 2:26 am

  10. You have a voice which you’re not afraid to express and stand proud by what you believe in. Not many people do, and because they lack the confidence you have, you get “anonymous” comments like that. I also know that each and every single word you say is very thought out with tangible, credible meaning. Don’t let a few envious comments get to you. Whether or not I agree with your stance, I respect your thoughts (as should everyone else) because I know you respect others’.

    Sam

    March 7, 2009 at 2:32 am

  11. Anonymous #6, 7, and Sam, thank you very much for your kind words.

    And anonymous #4: I forgot to mention, these are my thoughts about relevant day politics… how much more relevant can you get than about the mayoral election about the city I live in??

    I’d also like to point out that no where in my blog do I generalize the people who voted for Villaraigosa as being “stupid;” rather, I stated that people who voted for him “for the sake of voting for him” are very ignorant. Two completely different things. People who go out and vote for things they have no knowledge about shouldn’t be allowed to vote (which is of course impossible to do). It’s kind of like giving people their driver’s license just because they know how to press the gas and brake pedals… which explains why so many stupid accidents happen. There’s more to driving than those pedals, and to tie it back, there’s more to voting than going by what other people say and not having a mind of your own. There’s no reason why anyone should be offended by this blog.

    Annie

    March 7, 2009 at 2:47 am

  12. The fifth anonymous should do their own research before sounding like a dumbass with the fox news comment because Walter Moore is not a republican.

    Kenny

    March 7, 2009 at 12:11 pm

  13. Just because Fox News has a “republic” line up doesn’t mean their headline news aren’t true. You don’t have to watch O’Reily if you don’t want, but to say news is bullshit or not true is ridiculous. Every writer has his/her opinion and that’s how news and politics go. We should all do our research and use as many different, diverse sources as possible.

    Anonymous

    March 10, 2009 at 12:54 am

  14. Thank you anonymous, couldn’t have said it better =)

    Annie

    March 10, 2009 at 12:59 am


Leave a Reply

