Better To Be Correct

Express how you truly feel with no concerns about being "politically correct."

I Really Don’t Understand The Hype About “Slumdog Millionaire”

with 26 comments


Today I finally decided to watch Slumdog Millionaire with a friend, and honestly, I don’t understand what the whole hype is about. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not a bad movie, but I just think it’s over-rated.

In fact, the movie pissed me off.

Why? Because of the whole issue of male dominance and domestic violence within the country. Those of you who know me know that I can’t stand the oppression of women, and you can refer to an older blog I wrote about domestic violence. The reason why the movie didn’t impress me is because I know that stuff like that goes on in that country, and even have friends (who live in America) who have told me that their dad has the same mentality as the mob boss in the movie who was using women as objects and beating them up. Minus the game part of the movie, it seemed more like a documentary than anything else, which is why I’m not impressed by it. It’s like doing a movie about the hardships of living in Compton or any third world country… it’s an unfortunate part of life, and making a movie about it doesn’t make the movie itself anything special. Perhaps they should take some of the money (and publicity) they made from that movie and try to make a change in their country? I don’t know, but it’s just really sad. Maybe that’s another reason why the Indian government is suing the (Indian) cast, aside from the fact that they didn’t like the portrayal of the people in the slums… gee, I wonder why?

The movie was just more disturbing than anything else, especially the incident with the blind singing kids. Assholes like that exist, and it’s really heartbreaking that not everyone has the strength to get away from a lifestyle like that.

What do you think?

Written by Annie

March 8, 2009 at 11:41 pm

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The movie was over-rated.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 1:05 am

  2. Wow, I definitely agree with you.

    Sarah

    March 9, 2009 at 1:17 am

  3. Well, honestly, I don’t remember a whole lot from the movie, as I too hated it. But as a product of an incredibly violent marriage (that is now over thank God) I have zero tolerance for domestic violence. But when looking at the film from this perspective, if it doesn’t do anything else, it does draw attention to the problems that seem to be being ignored. If it inspires people to make changes in their lives or in a nations policies, then this is a good thing. But I agree, it is not the mere presence of these issues in the film that should make it such an epic film.

    Personally I didn’t like the movie simply becasue it made no sense and was impractical. I mean honestly, why is every answer to a question some life changing experience. The whole movie just didn’t make a lot of sense. But w/e, blame the writers strike or whoever you want but it didn’t deserve to win Best Picture, so Fuck the Academy, and Fuck Slumdog Millionaire and Fuck all you annoying people that don’t shut up about this damn movie.

    Ryan

    March 9, 2009 at 1:18 am

  4. I seriously love your blog and your view on things.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 1:18 am

  5. thats the point ur suppose to feel those things and it terms of tugging at ur emotions and being provacative the movie did succeed the rawness of the movie of which u refer to as feeling like a documentary is also intentional its like point of view in a novel and ryan romeo and juliet is impratical, hamlet is impratical, oedipus rex is impractical but it doesnt make it any less of a great piece of work

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 1:31 am

  6. Okay, you can’t compare Shakespeare to this. It’s like apples and oranges… two VERY COMPLETELY different types of work.

    And I understand what you’re saying, but what I’m doing is adding to that and saying that hopefully people can take this movie and actually do something about the corruption rather than glorifying the cast who hasn’t done anything about it (at least not yet).

    Annie

    March 9, 2009 at 1:44 am

  7. The reason those works you reference are so great is because it was an amzing piece of art, not some amateur as independent film with B-rate actors. There is no real vision.

    P.S. Ive met the two main characters and director at the Oprah show, they aren’t visionaries, they are simply star-struck people in their 15 minutes of fame. Never once did they mention the problems discussed in the movie.

    Ryan

    March 9, 2009 at 1:45 am

  8. Annie, you’re a great writer, and have a unique style. It’s really cool. I think you should consider doing it as a profession.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 2:07 am

  9. horrible critique of a provocative film. Perhaps the movie was a tad bit over your head, in case you missed it the theme is hope. Hope in a country full of despair. Female objectification was not glorified but rather showcased for what it is: a sad reality in a third world country. As for the 15 minutes of fame comment above… Is it Really the job of an actor/actress to address the problems of the characters they depict? Last time I checked the majority of actors/actresses were pompous ego driven alcoholics who paraded around in million dollar wardrobes for the oscars. Too understand a movie like slumdog it is best to leave the first world and see an actual slum. If the movie was too graphic and chauvenistic then perhaps it is best that you stick with high budget, high thrills movies like wall e and Benjamin button.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 6:45 am

  10. P.s. Your blog is interesting for the audacity of it’s ignorance. If not for ignorance I have little reason to believe there would be much in the way of entertainment on this blog. Keep up the bad work. America needs comical bloggist in this era of economic and social despair

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 6:53 am

  11. My bad, East Oakland and Richmond CA aren’t slums at all, I’m part of the ignorance that drives the American war machine.

    Let me continue in my ignorance then: FYI: Slumdog Millionaire was an independent film. Independent films are usually made with a purpose more than just to entertain, the director (who I also referenced in my last post) usually is very mindful of the greater picture and overall message of the film and tries to spread that message whenever given the chance. Also, the production crew usually finds a cast of no name actors that share similar feelings. When I met the director, I didn’t see these same movies.

    You may say that the underlying message of the film is “hope,” I say kiss my ass. Honestly, you can’t just go make a movie and have some poor kid make it out of the ghetto or die trying and call it amazing and a great story. All this movie did was feed the average Ameicans ego, letting them feel sorry for another country, while feeling better about our own nation. Americans need to quit worrying so much about the problems in other countries and look at the problems right here in our own “slums” Ever watched “Boyz in the Hood” or “Don’t be a Menace?” If you ask me, you’re all the ignorant ones for reusing to acknowledge the problems going on here in America right down the street from your beautiful home. Then again, ignorance is bliss and we would hate to run your perfect little life with a little reality.

    Ryan

    March 9, 2009 at 9:09 am

  12. At the time it came out, it was a feel good movie. It was during the elections of our first black President.

    Plus, seeing it at the time would have been different, but since you heard how “good” it was, it made you have higher expectations.

    I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I do know that I have all these expectations that it won’t live up to.

    Elidet Reyes

    March 9, 2009 at 12:47 pm

  13. I’m sorry to say but you still never said why you didn’t like the movie or why it pissed you off.

    “Because of the whole issue of domestic violence in the country”

    Do you hate movies that are about domestic violence? I understand you hate domestic violence so do I, but the sad fact is that domestic violence does exist and the movie wasn’t advocating it, it was bringing attention to it.

    “It seemed more like a documentary than anything else, which is why I’m not impressed by it.”

    Are documentaries bad? Documentaries impress me all the time. If you personally don’t like documentaries then that’s fine, but at least explain why it being like a documentary is a bad thing.

    “it’s an unfortunate part of life, and making a movie about it doesn’t make the movie itself anything special.”

    See here was where I think you greatly misunderstood the movie. People have this huge problem where they think the gimmick is what made the movie. They think “Oh hey Jurassic Park was about Humans on an island with dinosaurs and it was successful so if I make a movie about a bunch of people on an island with dinosaurs then it’ll be successful.” that is 100% false, hence why the two sequels sucked. Actually that’s why most sequels suck, because they lose sight of what made the first movie successful. What makes a good movie is the characters, the plot, the dialogue, the cinematography. That is what truly intrigues people. Things like gore, aliens, and robots are all just Gimmicks to get people to come and see the movie. It’s not that we see a man being murdered or trying to murder someone, it’s WHY does that guy want to kill him that intrigues us, or WHY do they fall in love. Gore in murder is like sex in a romance, it’s fun to watch but it’s not what anyone cares about.

    “The movie was just more disturbing than anything else, especially the incident with the blind singing kids.”

    Again you don’t explain yourself. Is disturbing bad? If people didn’t like disturbing things then a lot of movies like saw and psycho wouldn’t be huge. Remember that the movie was doing it out of commentary, the director didn’t go “haha I’ve got a great idea lets blind him, it’ll be really funny.” No he was showing that people like that fucking exist in this world. If that bothers you then I’m sorry it bothers me too, but just because the movie tells the truth is no reason why it should be knocked.

    “Perhaps they should take some of the money (and publicity) they made from that movie and try to make a change in their country?”

    They did. The Producers and directors used some of their time and money to get all the actors (who were all people actually from the slums) out of the crap holes they lived in, including their families and whoever else they could (getting a lot of people out of a slum is not easy or cheap) but they are doing as much they can.

    The Indian government is pissed off because they only showed the slums and didn’t show the rest of India making them look bad, but guess what the rest of India isn’t really that much better.

    I know what the movie was about sucked but hey, I love Transformers, but the movie sucked because it was like watching an Imax movie with binoculars. So if your going to critique a movie, try to critique the movie.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 4:32 pm

  14. Once again, I NEVER said that the movie was a bad movie, and I made sure of that in the very beginning of my blog. And I never said that I don’t like documentaries. Anonymous above, you keep asking why the movie pissed me off, and you answered your own question within your comment. People like that exist, exactly, and yet people don’t do anything about it. The lack of education in those countries creates the ignorance which makes it okay to beat up a woman, and do cruel things to kids for the sake of profit. For the most part, Ryan makes excellent points in his comments, especially since he’s met the director and few members of the cast. And taking 7 people from the slums of over 7 million doesn’t really do anything to the situation of the people living there. And the part of the movie where the mother is killed because of the issue of conflicting religions shows the instability and corruption within the government (which doesn’t do ANYTHING). Yes, I am glad I live in America where we are somewhat more tolerant of each other, but as once again Ryan stated, we too face these problems here. Although it’s not to that extent, there are slums here in America, and kids dying of hunger, etc.

    To the fifth anonymous, thank you for being ignorant yourself by trying to tell me what I feel is wrong. I’m not critiquing the movie per say, but what I am saying is that nothing about this movie made it super special. The movie has been made… has anything changed? NO. My point exactly. Thank you. Once again referring back to Ryan’s comment, the point of independent films are to do something about the situation, and to at least try to spread the message any chance they get, which hasn’t been happening. And fyi, I didn’t care much for Benjamin Button either, so don’t try to act like you know who I am or why I feel the way I do about things.

    Annie

    March 9, 2009 at 5:08 pm

  15. Anonymous #5 needs a reality check before he (or she) tries to put down accurate judgments of a situation. The point of this blog isn’t that the movie was a bad movie (as Annie clearly stated it’s not a bad movie), but mostly that the cast and crew are being glorified for an unfortunate situation, while doing absolutely nothing to help it. The point of an independent film being made shifted the instant they started making all this profit out of the movie, which is really sad.

    Sam

    March 9, 2009 at 5:17 pm

  16. I don’t understand those of you who are trying to criticize this blog. It says nothing about the movie being bad, but just that it was over-rated and doesn’t do anything about the problems, which I agree with. Just because you don’t have everyone agree with you on loving the movie doesn’t make the opinion an ignorant opinion… which is what makes all of you sound ridiculously ignorant. Grow up and get a life. It’s because of people like you who don’t accept other people’s thoughts that causes all the intolerance going on in this world. You like black, I like white. It doesn’t make you a better person, and it sure as hell doesn’t discredit my likings.

    Giselle

    March 9, 2009 at 5:34 pm

  17. Male dominance, corruption in the government, domestic violence, overexposure of children, “Do you know how much this virgin is worth?” “Blind singing kids make twice the amount of money,” “the Muslims are coming!” Lack of education=ignorance in the culture and intolerance of one another. Has anything changed? No. Will anything change? Not anytime soon, but I hope so. I don’t know if there’s any other way of putting this into simpler terms to get my point across, but that’s fine. Not everyone has to agree with me. I respect all of your opinions and comments, as I’d like to get the same respect back. So thank you everyone.

    Annie

    March 9, 2009 at 5:41 pm

  18. Oh and how can I forget, people are doing something about this movie: It has become more of a fashion statement than anything else. Hooray to once again overlooking all the problems. =)

    Annie

    March 9, 2009 at 6:15 pm

  19. This is Anonymous who wrote the really long one.

    I feel like we’re not arguing the same point. I’m letting you know that I agree with everything you say about intolerance and domestic violence. I’m just arguing on what your title is; “I really don’t understand the hype about Slumdog Millionaire.” and you go on to say that it’s over-rated, but you never actually say why it’s over rated. Basically what that suggests to me is that many people thought the movie was really great and you don’t believe that it was as great as everyone else says. I’m just simply asking why you don’t think it was that good of a movie. You can talk about how horrible the world is all you want but I want to know why you didn’t like the movie.

    The closest thing you came to answering my question was when you said “The movie was more disturbing than anything” but you didn’t say that was a problem the movie had. Personally I like disturbing movies, but my sister doesn’t. People can have different tastes so you can’t just assume.

    And I’m not saying everything just because I like the movie, well actually technically that is why. Because if you were to say. “Slumdog was great” I would just say “Yeah” because I have my own reasons to believing the same thing and I assume you have the same reason’s, but if you say “it wasn’t that great” then I realize that you saw the movie differently than I did and I’m just curious as to how you looked at the movie and why you think what you think.

    So sorry I’m just looking at this like a film critique, if that’s not what your post was about then I’m sorry for attacking you, the title just suggested to me that it was a film critique.

    P.S. Anonymous #5 is a douche nozzle. I actually agreed with him but his post right after is fully complete with doucheness.

    Anonymous

    March 9, 2009 at 9:55 pm

  20. Anonymous above me:

    The over-rating is for the cast being glorified for portraying a reality. I don’t know, perhaps I’m not doing a good job at explaining myself, but I’ll give it another shot. Or maybe I’ll give another example. My friend and I were talking the other day about a guy who was wearing a huge cross around his neck, and when my friend asked the guy what the cross represented, he couldn’t give an answer. Stuff like that really bugs me when people don’t see the underlying point of an issue and tend to make everything like a fashion statement, kind of like how this movie was with the whole “how to dress like Latika” which was shown on E. And, even though the story itself is sad, there’s nothing extra spectacular about the movie itself, whether it’s the cinematography or whatever it is, because other movies have done the same.

    The over-rated comment is for the attention being directed toward the wrong stuff.

    Annie

    March 10, 2009 at 12:20 am

  21. I don’t really think that the point of a movie, even an indie, is to change the world. At best it can draw attention to a problem. And I think it did that in one way or another.
    I personally think it was a pretty good movie; I especially liked the cinematography. Probably because it was similar to Crash and I enjoyed that movie.

    Anonymous

    March 10, 2009 at 12:45 am

  22. I haven’t seen Crash so I can’t comment on that. And once again, it wasn’t a bad movie at all, I just don’t like the direction people are taking afterward.

    Annie

    March 10, 2009 at 1:05 am

  23. See Crash it’s incredible. moving in ways Slumdog can only dream of.

    Annie without being rude you are guilty of exactly that of which you criticize others: making sweeping statement that lack understanding.
    The government of India is not doing nothing. for example is you live in a slum in india the govt is obligated to provide clean water and sanitation. In fact the film hi lighted the way india has transformed over the last 20 years. Having spent 6 months there I can tell you that things really are getting better. Also you complain nothing has been done – what the slum population of india is to disappear over night?
    Also, ive spent time working in the slums and i have to say they are not that bad, Children go to school, people have small business. Health care is a problem and AIDs is horrendous but it is not as simple as simply moving people out of these places. In fact is is my belief many would not move. Long term sustainable policies are the only answers.

    You say it is ‘disturbing’. I don’t understand: do you mean that it is disturbing these things exist and you would rather not be reminded of it? frankly i find that disturbing.

    Anonymous

    March 10, 2009 at 5:41 am

  24. No no, don’t misunderstand me. I’m glad that things are advancing, and I know that things can’t be better in the blink of an eye. Any progression is always a plus. I think the general problem I have is with all cultures that emphasize on male dominance, including my own. What makes that even worse is when the government supports that, thus making several occurrences such as the examples in the movie more doable.

    Annie

    March 10, 2009 at 3:46 pm

  25. “Annie without being rude you are guilty of exactly that of which you criticize others: making sweeping statement that lack understanding.”

    –I kind of agree with that. There is a lot being done about the problems that exist today. It’s hard because aid/improvement never comes as fast as it needs to. And improving the lives of 7 people does matter. Even if there are millions more. Every bit counts. Plus no one reports the positive things that happen in news. News reports new, negative, etc things.

    Recently I saw a PBS video called E2 Film Series on sustainability and improvement for women in Bangladesh. You should really check it out.

    Anonymous

    March 11, 2009 at 4:02 pm

  26. “It’s hard because aid/improvement never comes as fast as it needs to.” I agree. I just don’t understand nor have tolerance for any violation of basic, fundamental, human rights. I’ll look into that film though.

    Annie

    March 11, 2009 at 11:31 pm


Leave a Reply

